LISCR Win Third 2017 Trophy

first_imgLISCR FC Coach Tapha Manneh and Defensive Midfielder Allen Njie celebrate their team’s triumph in the LISCR Trust Tournament. (Photo Credit: LISCR FC.) LICSR FC continue to show their strength as double champions and their readiness for the upcoming league season after narrowly defeating NPA Anchors 1-0 to win the LISCR Trust Tournament over the weekend at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium.A lone goal from midfielder Sekou Sheriff in the 65th minute secured the victory for Coach Tapha Manneh’s side to clinch the pre-season tournament trophy.The weekend triumph for the ‘Shipping Boys’ recorded their third trophy in 2017, having won the First Division Championship and the FA Cup during the 2016/2017 league season.Both LISCR and NPA Anchors advanced to the final after edging out their opponents in the first and second rounds.LISCR saw off newly promoted second division side Pags FC and Small Town in their first two matches (3-0 and 4-0 respectively) to book their ticket to the final, while NPA Anchors defeated Monrovia Club Breweries and Bristol FC 2-0 and 3-2 respectively before conceding their only defeat in the final.Eight teams, including LISCR FC, NPA Anchors, Watanga FC, Bristol FC, Small Town FC, Monrovia Club Breweries, Keitrace FC and Pags FC, competed for the L$30,000 cash prize.Following the climax of the tournament, several players received individual awards for their outstanding performances during the tournament, with striker Christopher Jackson walking away with two awards.Striker Jackson was recognized as the Highest Goal Scorer and Best Forward in the tournament. He was joined by teammates Sekou Sheriff, who was awarded the Most Valuable Player title; Kemoh Kamara as Best Defender; and Coach Manneh as the Best Coach.Others included Joshua Williams of NPA Anchors and teammate Kortee Symthe as Best Midfielders.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *