All articles about 上海419论坛WE

Football fraternity bemused by FUFA awards as Mutyaba is crowned the best

first_img Tags: top Muzamir Mutyaba (right) was voted the best player of 2017. Left is Fazilah Ikwaput the best female footballer of the year. Courtesy photo.FOOTBALL–After months of voting, KCCA FC playmaker Muzamir Mutyaba was last night crowned as the FUFA player of the year.At the glamorous event in Munyonyo, the announcement left many journalists shocked at the fact that the Kasasiro boy was chosen over former team made Geofrey Sserunkuma.The shock amongst the media and some of other personnel could clearly be understood as only a few months ago, Sserunkuma won the KCCA footballer of the year ahead of Mutyaba.Looking at how the season has so far paved out in both Uganda and Zambia where Sserunkuma now plays, it’s hard to convice anyone that both their perfomances had a bid say in the award with Mutyaba netting only twice and assisting one goal in the 13 games played so far this season.Geofrey Sserunkuma who top scored in the league with 21 goals last season becomes the next victim of the awards in two years after South African based Cranes custodian Dennis Onyango lost out to Shaban Muhammad of Onduparaka by then.With the fact that the awards are chosen via sms and the mobilization that has been going on at KCCA’s every league game this season with the club’s media officer Clive Kyazze encouraging people to vote for Mutyaba, it I easily understandable as to why he triumphed ahead of Sserunkuma who is currently playing in Zambia.Mutyaba’s coach Mike Mutebi who over saw the Kasasiro Boys winning their first league and cup double last season coupled by an excellent run on the continent won the FUFA coach of the year ahead of Maroons’ Asaf Mwebaze and SC Villa’s Warsaw Bbosa.The team of the year 2017 was also announced yesterday with a few surprise inclussions and omissions.The surprise inclussions included SC Villa leftback John Adriko and Onduparaka’s Rashid Toha who were chosen ahead of KCCA duo of Isaac Muleme and Timothy Awanyi.The complete least of Awards.1.Denis Onyango-Fans Favourite player in Other Leagues- outside Uganda.2.Emma Okwi-Fans’ Favourite Ugandan Player of the year.3.Nasser Lwamudda -Beach Soccer.4.Kenneth Kasadha -U-18 Referee.5.KCCA-FUFA Fair Play Award.6.Brain Miro Nsubuga- FUFA Referee of the Year.7.Mike Mutebi- FUFA Coach of the year.8.Ismail Watenga, Nicholas Wadada, JohnAdriko, Halid Luwalirwa, Rashid Toha , Tadeo Lwanga,Muzamir Mutyaba, Gadinho Gadaffi, Muhammad Shaban, Emmanuel Okwii and Geofey Serunkuma -FUFA Best X19.Kalema Muhamood Blatter -President Awards.10.Fazilah Ikwaput -Airtel FUFA Female player of the year 2017.11.Muzamir Mutyaba- Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the Year 2017.Comments last_img read more